WOYWW 285

A grand good morning to everyone. I think I’m getting the hang of WOYWW fun and sharing. For additional information check out Stamping Ground and join in on the blog hopping.

Bold Moves is the topic of today. I am working on a Mid Month Challenge at Journal Workshops with Jennibellie. Very similar to the 7 backgrounds in 7 days from earlier this month, we are now doing 3 journal pages in 7 days using the same format. Each day we do a different technique: paper, paint, stamps, stencils, ephemera, collage, markers, etc.

Jennibellie workshop

Bold Moves - be unexpected  Bold Moves Angelina Bold Moves

5 days of Mandala magic with Julie Gibbons is the other fun and games for this week. More on this next week.

I also wanted to share/ask about one of my recent journal finds.  Bookmans is our local “entertainment exchange” and while in Phoenix last weekend Michael and I dropped by.

Journal finds

Hand crafted by The Natural Paper Company Fountain Valley, California. Bookmans find at an incredible $3.00

Hand crafted photo album by The Natural Paper Company Fountain Valley, California. This is absolutely beautiful (even if it did live in a smoking home). Any suggestions regarding care and use of this type of paper?

Wishing everyone a terrific day.

Newton & Socrates

Newton & Socrates Napping

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Llj
    Nov 19, 2014 @ 20:52:32

    Well, that’s an interesting project you’re involved in…I’m intrigued to see how Angelina Jolie fits into the equation though! And what a find with that beautiful photo book…I’m afraid I have no idea on paper conservation. Hope you have some luck.
    And I LOVE the fact that you have a Newton as well as Socrates…fab names!!
    Hugs, LLJ 18 xx

    Reply

  2. Sharon Madson
    Nov 19, 2014 @ 21:12:49

    Love the photo of your kitties! Lovely projects. Thanks for the peek! #65

    Reply

  3. Ali H
    Nov 19, 2014 @ 21:19:12

    Great to see your journal pages ! And those cat-nappers ! Ali#20

    Reply

  4. zksmith
    Nov 19, 2014 @ 21:44:15

    Thanks for visiting Pat. Some promising journal pages there, and I would so like to put my hands on those books! zsuzsa @ InkyDinkyDoodle #39

    Reply

  5. Voodoo Vixen
    Nov 19, 2014 @ 22:19:35

    Love the journal pages you are working on, not sure about the mulberry paper book which is so lovely. I have had one for many years and have done nothing to it and it is exactly the same as when I got it… mind you, I am not an acid free freak as I like things to age naturally over time. Annette #11

    Reply

  6. Chris Porter
    Nov 19, 2014 @ 23:11:35

    The journal pages look great, and I hope you find a solution to the smoky paper problem. Love the kitties! Have a wonderful week, Chris # 8

    Reply

  7. Angela
    Nov 19, 2014 @ 23:38:00

    Interesting journal pages, hope to see them when complete. Lovely kitties.
    Have a great and crafty week, Angela x 28

    Reply

  8. KRISHA
    Nov 20, 2014 @ 15:36:51

    Thanks for stopping by my blog this week.

    Love the art work on your desk and the new books all look yummy and ready for playtime.
    Krisha#5

    Reply

  9. art-a-tag
    Nov 20, 2014 @ 18:14:00

    You got some interesting projects going on. Your kitties are so sweet!!
    Cheers
    Gabriele 26

    Reply

  10. Maggie (Silvercrafter)
    Nov 20, 2014 @ 18:36:52

    Thanks for your visit, Pat. I am just starting to feel vaguely human again. Love seeing all your pictures, especially the kitties. Hope you have a good week. xx Maggie

    Reply

  11. Chris
    Nov 20, 2014 @ 19:34:45

    What an absolutely beautiful book, shame about the smokey smell. They do say that if you put soem vinegar into a saucer and put it into a room where someone has smoked it will get rid of teh smell, so perhaps you can try something like that.
    Those pussies are gorgeous, want to cuddle them!!!
    Thanks dor dropping by my desk.
    Chris #25

    Reply

  12. Julia
    Nov 21, 2014 @ 07:45:26

    Wow, you are very disciplined..I haven’t been able to follow a week long anythig for yonks now…and it shows in my stuff..I don’t challenge myself particularly. I like the backgrounds you have in preparation…I’m rubbish at different styles at once! I have a photo album of a similar sort, given me by a friend from a trip to the Maldives. Keep it away from direct light in storage terms…I found the front cover faded where it was on the book case and also, (mine isn’t acid free) I suspect that actually, the pages will eventually break down as they are all recycled fibre and pulp.

    Reply

  13. 505whimsygirl
    Nov 21, 2014 @ 18:39:38

    Hi Pat,
    I LOVE Bookmans! Every time I visit my friend in Queen Creek we make a trip (or two) Not sure how to take care of the paper – maybe google it? Your desk looks likes nice and organized. It depends on what I’m working on how messy I get!

    Your projects look interesting; way to go in keeping up!
    I’m slowly making my way around to desks. Thank you for visiting me earlier!
    Happy belated WOYWW,
    Hugs, Kay

    Reply

  14. fairyrocks
    Nov 22, 2014 @ 17:01:29

    Love how you mix the magazine cut outs with your gorgeous backgrounds. Very inspirational. and just when I was thinking of downsizing the magazine stack LOL. Keep smiling and creating

    Reply

  15. Krafty Karen
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 01:56:55

    Hi – thanks for your visit to my desk – to answer your question a laptray is a tray with a cushion underneath (usually filled with beans or polysterene balls) that moulds to your lap so that it doesn’t tip – usually used for eating dinner in front of the tv but I have three and they always have craft stuff on them LOL!!

    Your journal pages look lovely

    Best wishes
    KraftyKaren #58

    Reply

  16. PTaviss
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 20:37:14

    I actually use one of those. Never knew it had a name. thx

    Reply

  17. Judy McCarthy
    Nov 26, 2014 @ 22:06:20

    I have several of those lap trays.They are so handy for crafting work while watching tv.I draw Zentangles on card while the tray is on my lap. Being a cat lover too, yours look gorgeous.There’s nothing as peaceful as a sleeping cat.

    Reply

  18. Ginny
    Nov 27, 2014 @ 18:16:31

    Very exciting stuff happening on your desk top! Love the album and the things that you have made, read ahead too, I will have to try the chalk pens! Cute cats!
    Have a great week! Ginny #43

    Reply

Leave a Reply

