WOYWW 287

WOYWW What’s on your Workdesk Wednesday, actually seems to be the beginning of my creative week. I am one of many who join in on the blog hop each week to peek into other lands and creative minds. Making new pals and getting lots of inspiration.

Hamsa Mandala

I am finishing up a very fun Mandala Magic workshop with Julie Gibbons. The Hamsa circle frames the basis of my own hand. I did the rough sketch and now I’m ready for the fun part. As part of her work she provides a mandala personality assessment, and no surprize the colours I am generally attracted to appear. So for my large SMASH book, I decorated the front with Sharpies in appropriate hues.

With all my fav colours

With all my fav colours

Next up will be the December challenge “Ink blotting” with the lovely Jennibellie. Promise to show you the results next week. Fun, fun, fun.

My favorite thing this week

OMG the Caran d’Ache Neocolor II Watersoluble wax pastels, (and of course liquid pearls) gives me the freedom of spirit to really play. Not as messy as somethings, (especially when the Newton is not sleeping) I feel like that wonderful grade two art girl.  Hurrah.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ali H
    Dec 03, 2014 @ 20:10:56

    Your mandala is looking great – I know what you mean about the crayons – lots of colour for very little mess ! Enjoy using mine too ! Ali H #51

    Reply

  2. Angela
    Dec 03, 2014 @ 20:43:33

    Interesting project, look forward to seeing it finished. Thanks for the visit, Angela x 28

    Reply

  3. Chris Porter
    Dec 03, 2014 @ 21:20:41

    Glad you’re having such fun – just how crafting should be! Can’t wait for the finished project. Have a great week, Chris # 15

    Reply

  4. LLJ
    Dec 03, 2014 @ 22:37:05

    I didn’t even know you could get watersoluble wax pastels! I’m intrigued and would very much like to see what you end up creating with them…they’ll be a denser colour than watercolour but not as thick as oils maybe? You’ll have to show us the end result next time!!
    Thanks for dropping by my blog 🙂
    Hugs, LLJ 22 xx

    Reply

  5. Carol N
    Dec 03, 2014 @ 23:24:57

    Cool mandala base! I’ve not tried one of these but have friends who enjoy doing them. Have fun with your watercolor crayons! Thanks for popping by and Happy WOYWW!
    Carol N #36

    Reply

  6. zksmith
    Dec 03, 2014 @ 23:37:27

    Hi Pat! Thanks for visiting my blog and your sweet comment! I love Caran D’ache crayons too! They are a bit more muted than the Inktense range, so they compliment each other perfectly! Hope to see your December challenge project next week! Happy WOYWW! zsuzsa @ InkyDinkyDoodle #30

    Reply

  7. lirpastory
    Dec 05, 2014 @ 04:48:37

    Your page looks so creative. I want to see what you created with your favorite product. 🙂 April #43

    Reply

  8. Beth P
    Dec 05, 2014 @ 21:21:38

    HI Pat, thanks for popping over at my blog this week! I am still making my around to blogs. tortoise slow as usual! 😀 I love working with mandalas and am looking forward to seeing what you do with yours.

    I liked the Caran d’ache but I have found through experimenting that I personally prefer working with acrylics, colored pencils and traditional watercolors – I just couldn’t seem to get the control over the crayons like I can with colored pencils.

    There are just so many new goodies out on the market… I had to narrow down some because I was starting to become like a deer in the headlights of an oncoming car – stunned and motionless! 😀 I gave my set of Caran d’ache to an artist friend in Mexico City!
    Hugs and look forward to seeing what your desk looks like next week! Isn’t this poking around other’s desks so much fun?!
    Beth P
    #49

    Reply

  9. Bridget Larsen Australia
    Dec 08, 2014 @ 04:10:06

    That is an interesting concept, using your hands for the mandala, cant wait to see the finished project
    Bridget #4

    Reply

Leave a Reply

